I Can Guarantee, Things Are Sweeter in Tennessee

Welp, the good news is I hadn’t unpacked all the boxes so they won’t have to be repacked. The bad news is I have splotches of paint in my living room wall to determine my wall color.

Next week, the Pyles will be making the voyage (and yes, it is a voyage) to Olive Branch, MS where we will live in the cutest little cottage on the lake. Cliff got an incredible {out of the blue… wasn’t even looking}  job offer in Memphis! He will be able to work for himself for a big name company for the next year. Something computer for Hilton *is it terrible that I don’t really know what my husband does?*

The goodbyes have started. I went into my office today to pack up and say goodbye to these gals.

In his last episode on the Office, Michael Scott said, “The people that you work with are, when you get down to it, your very best friends.” And these gals really are. I cried the hardest when I told them I was leaving. . . so hard I had to stop and compose myself  four times in the hall before making it in there. Shew. And the students. Gut wrenching! I have countless memories at ole’ ETSU Upward Bound; it really was the best job I’ve ever had and maybe every will.

It’s a family.

It’s a riot.

It’s life changing.

As things become a reality, I think of all I will miss out on in the next year. Benjamin’s best friend {Calvin} turn one. Grove Park Inn and the gingerbreads. girls nights with a group of gals who I love more than life itself. Seeing Hunger Games with a bunch who are obsessed with it as much as I am. So. Much. More.

But this is good and I’m thrilled to go on this grand adventure with my sweet sweet husband. Cliff’s family is there so we won’t be alone and we’ll get to spend a good year visiting them whenever the heck we want 🙂 I’m looking forward to having all distractions cleared away to spend time with my little bitty squawker. There are lots of things I want to do: join a gym, volunteer at a women’s shelter, get Benjamin on a schedule, read lots, take as many calsses as I can.

This is probably what you really want to see… My sweet friend Jamie took some pics of little bitty not long after he was born. Here are some of my faves.


Leave a Reply

