Let Your Light Shine

With my rosettes, I made this….

a cute little lamp

I had this lamp. I liked it, but it wasn’t great. And don’t even get me started on that ugly table. I’m also working on the little “table” it sits on. . . post coming soon.

First, I lined the bottom of the lamp with brown ribbon my brother in law had given me for my crafts. (Sorry, no pic. That part’s easy)

Then, I simply followed Little Birdie Secrets rosette tutorial to make my rosettes. * I didn’t have fabric glue and didn’t want to spring the $8 for it, so I tried tacky glue. Tacky glue does NOT work, don’t do it! Instead, use your glue gun and be really careful to glue where it won’t show. 

If you read my post on rosettes, you may remember my blue, brown and cream rosette. It’s my 2nd favorite, after the orange and cream. I did this rosette a bit differently than the tutorial. I wanted it to be more of a flower. I just sort of made “big twists” and glued A LOT so that I could get the fabric showing throughout.

They didn’t look very good together… I knew it was risky but wanted to try anyway. Sad day….

I used tape to decide where I would place my rosettes. I did not want to glue them before knowing I would like their positioning. 

After I had them positioned where I wanted them with the tape, I made a small dot on my lampshade to tell me where the center should be. (Can you see them? They are there, and tiny…)

I used my hot glue gun again to glue the rosettes down.

My b-i-l also gave me that upholstery tack. I love it in the cream and orange flower!

I did this project for $1.30… the cost of my fabric! 

I still have about 4 inches of each fabric. Wal-Mart will cut fabric in increments as small as 4 inches. I got 5 of each.

Here she is!

 

TaDa!

14 “You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. 15 No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father. – Matthew 5:14-16

 

Linking to:

 

Lovely Crafty HomeA Little Knick Knack

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becca
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 11:15:33

    I love the fabric tack. Perfect.

    Reply

  2. megan
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 08:33:02

    Your rosettes are so cute, the lamp looks adorable now! Great job!!

    Reply

  3. Rachael@Lovely Crafty Home
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 21:28:14

    Cute re-do! Thanks so much for linking it up this weekend 🙂

    Reply

  4. mary
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 15:09:25

    What a darling way to dress us your lamp!! Looks like your lamp is shining a bit more brightly these days – kindof how I feel when I get a haircut-just a bit more peppy!

    bee blessed
    mary

    Reply

  5. Allison Blackburn
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 16:01:52

    I love the way they turned out-rosettes are so adorable and I never knew how easy they are to make until I googled it the other day! I love the one with the upholstry tac! Great job Allie!

    Reply

  6. Allison
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 18:06:06

    Allie why do I always forget about Hobby Lobby? Hahahaha I’m so glad I have you to remind me!
    Also, do you know the status of Wal-mart and fabric anymore? I always got lucky there believe it or not!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

