Holy….Hummamole?

This post is for all of you who LOVED the hummamole!

Have I ever mentioned that I love guacamole and hummus? When I found this recipe from Gimme Some Oven I knew that I just had to try it. 

I take every opportunity to use my food processor. I think it’s my version of a power tool. It just gives me a rush! Ha.

This is what you’ll need:

1 can chick peas
1 ripe Avocado
2 Tbls Tahini
juice of one lime
1 Tbl of olive oil (not pictured)
LOTS of cilantro
2 cloves garlic
1/2 a red onion
chili powder and sea salt to taste

*The original recipe called for cumin. I later made it with cumin and believe me, the chili powder makes a difference and it’s a good one!

First, juice your lime, sprinkle some chili powder (if you like a kick, be generous, if not you may want to play Ebeneezer Scrooge for the day with chili powder) and measure your Tahini.

Tahini is essentially sesame paste, kind of like peanut butter but with sesame seeds. It’s a tad difficult to find. If you’re local, go to Earth Fare. None of the other groceries carry Tahini that I know of. You could also try Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods if you are lucky enough to have those.

Now drain your chickpeas. Loosely chop your cilantro (go with your gut here, I rarely measure anything,)  red onion, avocado and garlic. Throw it in the food processor.

I have a strategy for cutting avocados. First, cut through the skin. Twist and pull to get the two sections separated. Then cute several times straight down.

Then, take your knife (use a good one) and cut across. *sorry, forgot the pic.* You’ll end up with little boxes of avocado. If the avocado is ripe, you can just squeeze the avocado and the pieces will fall out. If it’s not quite ripe, get a spoon and scoop them.

*Another tip for garlic, just smash it with a can or jar. The skin comes off nice and easy.

While everything’s chillin’ in the processor, grind some sea salt on it. You don’t want the avocado to brown and they brown quick.

Lid it and process until your desired consistency. I like my a bit thicker and not so creamy. But, it your hummamole. You choose.

Delish! I eat mine with fresh veggies like baby carrots, bell peppers and celery. Or, you could eat with chips. Veggies are healthier, just sayin’ 🙂 It’s all about your choice for this recipe.

The exact measurements… I adore hand written recipe cards. I’ll pass them along to my children one day.

I seriously suggest you check out Gimme Some Oven! She does the best stuff.

Why did I make this recipe?

We went to a party to celebrate FIVE birthdays that happened within 2 weeks. One of which was my husband.

happy birthday from my blog, husband, it’s just a month late 🙂


The hostess, one of the birthday girls and a great friend of mine, Kristy.

The birthday crew. Joy and Janna (2nd and 3rd to the left) share a birthday with my hubby.

The boys made a floating fire.

While the girls played XBox Kinect

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison Blackburn
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 10:24:47

    Allie! This looks SO good! I want to go by the store on the way home and make it tonight!!! I have never heard of hummamole! LOVE it!
    I did manage to find Tahini at Kroger by ETSU….it’s in the ethnic aisle under Mediterranean, but it was PRICY! Good thing you only have to use a little at a time!
    Thanks for sharing this…totally gonna try it!

    Reply

  2. priskers
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 10:57:48

    The EF one is like $4 or $5 I think and I’ve made hummus at least 10 times with it. But it has to be stirred and go in the fridge

    This recipe makes a lot… enough to last me a week and a half of lunches. You’re gonna love it!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Black Bean’s Revenge « One thing at a Time

Leave a Reply

