Photo Frame on the Cheap

For my job, I travel to several high schools that would be considered “in the sticks” as we say in the south. I’m talking, I drive anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour and a half (in NYC, that’s no time. Here, it is.) I often spend my lunch break perusing the Salvation Army, Goodwill and locally owned shops in the little towns. Things are almost always cheaper there but I usually forget to take cash and can only pick up what I can manage with the little cash I carry. My most recent visit, my lone purchase (all I had was $1) was this mini photo frame FOR 50 CENTS! I did not like the cheap, fake wood look of the frame, but it was the exact size that I wanted for putting on a shelf above our bed and beside my window pane.

It was a snow day from work (yeah, working for a college!) and I had the itch to fix her up. So, I pulled out my trusty spray paint (Krylon in Ocean Blue Breeze) and went to work. The look of our bedroom is a little bit antique so I did not prime my frame first. I did not want full coverage of the paint on my frame and liked the idea of a little bit of the wood showing through.

Like I said, it was a snow day… going outside was not really an option. So, I got out one of our moving boxes and made a make shift spray paint barrier to put my frame in.

Then I went to work. I did not move the spray can back and forth, back and forth. Instead I did a straight line across, moved a bit down and did another spray across. It uses less paint (more savings, less fume) and creates a smoother look. I loved how it turned out! Blue, with some of the wood showing through. Here’s a better shot…

I had to decide what to put in it. I really like pictures but was not in the mood for one that I had around the house. What I did have were some old books that I got from my sister. She’s a high school librarian and some of the books were as old as your great grandmother in rough shape. It’s grainy, but don’t you love the cover? I do! That’s why I took it.

I simply tore a page out of the book and stuck it in my frame.

The words are nothing meaningful, but I really like the look and have a few other projects for the bedroom in mind that involve book pages… what can I say? I have my Master’s in school library, I’ve gotta have book pages!

It needs somethings else but I can’t decide what. Maybe I’ll have some snow days soon to do some more crafting!

What do you think?

How can I spice it up?


3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 23:18:31

    Oh Allie I love it!! It’s so amazing what just a little bit of spray paint can do!! I think a solid color design or “P” cut out from the cricut would look cute, or a doily…for some reason I’m obsessed with the idea of using old doilies…
    I also think the simplicity of just the old text looks great! And I think it’d be a neat idea to get a bunch of different sized frames and paint them all the same color and put old book pages in each and then hang them up together somewhere…this is the longest comment of my life!

    Reply

    • priskers
      Jan 07, 2011 @ 08:39:18

      Thanks, Al! I like the idea of a P. I use them as much as possible! I am going to do something like framing book pages but will tell you about it next time I see ya, it’s going to be *hopefully* my favorite project thus far.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: The Perks of Working in Education… « One thing at a Time

Leave a Reply

