An Easy Way to Make Guests Feel Comfortable

DON’T HIDE THE TP!

I hate really feel uncomfortable when I go to a friend or family member’s house (other than mom and sister) and the roll is just cardboard. No soft cotton to wipe my toosh. Horrible feeling because you really don’t want to go through their cabinets but am desperate for that paper.

While strolling through TJ Maxx one day, I came across this and knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. (Your Dollar Tree may have these as well. Mine had them, but the opening was just not big enough for TP. Check there if you do this for another project. You’ll save $6)

This….

But, I thought it looked a little too short sitting in there. So, I went to the trusty Dollar Tree and picked up one of these for $1.

I used my good friend, Gorilla Glue, to attach it to my hurricane to give some height. If you’ve never used Gorilla Glue, you’re missing out! The girls over at Shanty to Chic, http://www.shanty2chic.blogspot.com introduced me to it. If you ever use it, READ THE DIRECTIONS like I didn’t learned the hard way. You must apply water to one surface and then clamp them together. Gorilla Glue expands, beware.

*Sorry for the sideways picture. I can’t figure out how to rotate it, oops.

I simply wet one surface and added a small amount of glue to my other. I then held applied pressure to them for about 3 minutes with my hand.

After it was secure and no longer moving all around, I added books to the top to do the rest of the work for me. *Excuse the school books, husband is taking exams next week and has been using the table as his study arena.

After an hour, I took the books off and added some ribbon for fun. Everything’s better with a little splash of color if you ask me.

20 minutes later my $7 hurricane looked like this.

To glue the ribbon, I used my new glue gun from Hobby Lobby. I glued the bottom of the ribbon, pressed it to the glass and then did the top of the ribbon in the same segments. I used a glue gun because I wanted to stay inside and not risk getting sticky, but you could use craft glue, gorilla or even spray adhesive. Plus, I was antsy to use my new gun.

A close up of my $1 ribbon from the incredible Hobby Lobby

It looks so cute with these little birds hanging in the bathroom (made those too! Preblog)

I debated on several different ways to put my ribbon. Did I just want one piece?  did I want one at the top, one at the bottom and one in the  middle? Did I want a bow? I finally decided on the three close together. They are one ribbon’s width apart from each other.

I may add some rocks or beads to the bottom so there is not all that empty space on the top but I can’t decide if that is taking TP too far.

When my Cricut comes back to life (anyone know where to get a power cord? They are out of stock everywhere!) I have even bigger plans for this bad boy.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janna
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 10:53:28

    Oh my gracious you are so stinky crafty!!! I love it! You know those foldable bens kinda like a square box without a top? We have that in the corner of our bathroom with all our TP in it, so you’ll be comfortable at our house! But I love the style of yours, too cute!

    Reply

    • priskers
      Dec 22, 2010 @ 17:39:58

      My sis did something like that Janna! She got a wicker basket from TJ Maxx and it looks really good in her bathroom and I’m sure it looks good it yours too.

      Reply

  2. Allison
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 23:21:58

    What a great ideaa!!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: My First Link Party! « One thing at a Time

Leave a Reply

