Grace abundant: an authentic and vulnerable post

We all like sheep have gone astray, we have turned every one to his own way, and the Lord has laid on Him the iniquity of us all. Isa. 53:6

When I say I am thankful for grace does anyone REALLY stop to think about what that means. We just kind of say it in our “churchy lingo” that Christians use every day. I’m kind of over Church lingo as I don’t think it carries much weight anymore. It’s like we’ve been trained to say the right thing and use the right words.

Until I was married, I did not have a full appreciation of grace nor did I truly feel its impact on my life. God has saved me from immense amounts of pain and hurt by shielding me from so many things of this world. But it has been by HIS GRACE!

Once I was married (not because Cliff has a habit of pointing out my sins, but because I just see it more now than ever. You’ll understand when you’re married but it’s a foreign thought, I know) I saw how incredibly dirty and ugly I am on the inside when I am honest with myself. I am full of pride and selfishness all wrapped into one. I am vindictive and manipulative. I want everything to be the way I want it. I have favorites and not an equal lover of all. I pretend. A LOT. I am quick to become angry and do not show grace and forgiveness to others. I am  a sinner.

But then there’s Jesus. Take a deep breath and really really think…… JESUS! What a sacrifice. What a servant. What a lover. What a teacher. What a man of controversy. What a man who reconnects us to our creator. How humble. How divine. How utterly perfect.

This season, I can honestly say I am thankful for grace and know exactly what that means in my life. . . can you?

Thank you, JEsus. Thank you!

But He was wounded for our transgressions; He was crushed for our iniquities. Isaiah 53:5

Christ died for our sins in accordance with the scriptures, that He was buried, that He was raised on the third day in accordance with the scripture….but BY THE GRACE OF GOD I am what I am, and His grace toward me is not in vain. 1 Cor. 15:3-4 and 10

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9

And the word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen His glory, glory as of the only son from the Father, full of grace and truth. John 1:14

…And [we] are justified by His grace as a gift, through the redemption that is Christ. Romans 3:24

But sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under the law but under grace. Romans 6:14 (Beautiful!)

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. altonwoods
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 03:19:37

    Amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

