Prayer

A dear dear friend of mine asked me for prayer the other day. Then she called me her “prayer warrior” and thanked me so much. One of my FAVORITE things to do for a person is intercede on his or her behalf. Whether it’s a sick baby, medical tests, need of work, a humbled heart or salvation of a loved one.

I.

LOVE.

PRAYER.

And God does too! It is all over His word (we’ll take a look in a moment.) In my opinion, and I have nada to back this up, it’s the most selfless act of love if done with a pure heart. It takes time to pray for people. A lot of times they have no idea you are praying for them so you receive no recognition for them. God’s really the only way to change someone or something.

Here are some prayer tips that have helped me along the way:

1. Start a prayer journal or notebook. I have a little notecard flip book that I record my prayer requests in. I used to have a homemade journal given to me by a dear friend…I ran out of space!

2. Record what God is doing. Give yourself (and the devil) proof that God is working! Believe me, when you come to a point in life where all hope is lost and you something to remind you of what a powerful God you serve it will be like a sunny spring day after 3 months of bitter cold winter.

3. Set aside time each day to pray. I do my bible reading in the morning. Shew 6:15 comes early and I hate my alarm going off! But, at 7:45 I have a fresh spirit leaving for the day.

4. I break my days into subject. I.E. Monday is my day to pray for all you servants out there serving God with your lives. This includes missionaries we support, friends on Young Life staff, ministers, all the DRG staff. They need our prayers! I have a day set aside to pray specifically for those who don’t know the Lord. Yet. I pray in faith that He will draw them to Himself.

5. Take a day to pray just for yourself and your spouse if you have one. Sunday is my Allie and Cliff day. I miss my Sunday more often than I’d like to admit. But this is such a vital day. We need the Lord and we need to let that need known. It’s not selfish to ask God to change you for His glory or to provide for you when you’re in need.

6. Take advantage of times when you aren’t interacting with others.

Turn off the radio. When I was  YL leader in college, one of the most special times of my week was driving to club or bball games, anywhere really. I had a 20-25 minute drive ahead of me and used that to pray for those girls I would be encountering.

Running. I literally speak to God like I’m speaking to a person when I jog. Some people may think I’m crazy. It serves two purposes: prayer and breathing. I run so much better when I speaking.

Doing the dishes. Taking the dog for a walk. As you are going to bed. In the shower. Yes, in the shower…why not?

Why should we pray?

This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us – whatever we ask – we know that we have what we asked of him” (1 John 5:14-15).

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:6-7).


“…The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective” (James 5:16)

Jesus did it. HOw often do we read that Jesus went out early to seek his Father. Whoa buddy! If Jesus needs it so do we!

Love to you all,

Allie

Leave a Reply

